Review

Adobe Firefly review

Published Updated By AIHunterLabs editorial

Compiled from vendor pages and public sources, checked .

Adobe Firefly sells four individual plans on 2 Oct 2026: Standard $9.99 a month (2,000 generative credits), Pro $19.99 (4,000), Pro Plus $49.99 (10,000) and Premium $199.99 (50,000). Every paid plan includes unlimited standard image and vector generations, and credits are spent only on premium features: video, audio, translation and partner models from Google, OpenAI and others. Credits reset monthly and do not roll over. The page states that Firefly models’ outputs are safe for commercial use, but IP indemnification is stated only for eligible enterprise customers.

What a credit buys

Adobe’s plan table gives counts, not credit prices. Dividing the allowance by the “up to” count gives the implied rate (our arithmetic; Adobe may price individual models differently):

Plan, US monthly priceCredits5-second videosImplied credits per videoCost per videoTranslation, minutesCost per translated minute
Standard, $9.992,000up to 20100$0.50up to 6$1.67
Pro, $19.994,000up to 40100$0.50up to 13$1.54
Pro Plus, $49.9910,000up to 100100$0.50up to 33$1.51
Premium, $199.9950,000unlimited Firefly Video Modelnot statednot statedup to 166$1.20

Per credit, the three lower plans cost $0.005 each ($9.99 for 2,000, $19.99 for 4,000, $49.99 for 10,000) and Premium costs $0.004 ($199.99 for 50,000). So the ladder gives no volume discount until Premium, and the real choice on the lower tiers is which extras you want. The page also lists up to 200, 400, 1,000 and 5,000 generated sound effects and up to 100, 200, 500 and 2,500 minutes of generated music across the four plans.

Buying more: when credits run out, Adobe’s FAQ offers waiting for the reset, upgrading, or a credit add-on plan “starting at 2,000 credits”. The add-on price was not on the page we could read. On any paid plan, standard generative features stay unlimited after credits are spent.

Prices differ by country and by account type

Read from a Dutch browser session, the same plans show Standard at EUR 11.17, Pro EUR 22.36, Pro Plus EUR 55.91 and Premium EUR 223.68 a month including VAT. Business plans are per licence on annual billing: Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99 in the US view; the Dutch FAQ shows Premium at EUR 184.86 a licence excluding VAT. Creative Cloud Pro is listed with 4,000 Firefly credits. Do not mix the US dollar and euro figures in one comparison; the euro ones include VAT.

A promotion runs until 21 Oct 2026 on the two biggest plans: 30 percent off the first year (Pro Plus $34.97, Premium $139.91 in the US view), plus first-year “unlimited generations” on listed partner models. By the page’s columns that means select image models on Pro (such as Nano Banana 2 at 1K and Flux.2 Pro), all image models at 1K and 2K plus select video models on Pro Plus (such as Kling 2.5 Turbo), and Veo 3.1 Fast, Kling 3.0 and 4K image models on Premium. These are promotional first-year terms; prices above are the regular list.

Commercial use and indemnity

Adobe’s FAQ says outputs from its own Firefly models are safe for commercial use, trained on licensed and public-domain content, and carry Content Credentials. Two limits are in the same text: for partner-model outputs “you’re responsible for determining whether content generated by partner models is appropriate for your project”, and IP indemnification is offered to “eligible enterprise customers” for select Firefly outputs, through enterprise plans. An individual on Standard to Premium has the licence statement and no stated indemnity. How that compares with Midjourney, Ideogram, Leonardo and OpenAI is in best AI image generators; the copyright-versus-licence question is in can you use AI output commercially.

Who it suits

  • You already use Photoshop or Express: credits work across Adobe’s apps, and Pro bundles Express Premium and Photoshop on web and mobile.
  • You mainly make still images: the Standard plan’s unlimited standard generations, with 2,000 credits for occasional video, is the cheapest paid entry ($9.99).
  • You make short video regularly: the three lower plans all work out at about $0.50 a five-second clip; compare against the per-second prices in AI video cost per second. Each retake spends credits again.
  • A legal team wants indemnity: that is an enterprise conversation, not a plan on this page.

Image quality, prompt following and the quality of partner models are not on a plans page and are not assessed here. Credits across tools are compared in AI credits explained.

Method

Researched from Adobe’s plans page, read on 2 Oct 2026: US prices from a fetch, euro prices and the full FAQ from a browser session in the Netherlands. Cost per output is our division of the stated allowance by the page’s “up to” counts and assumes the plan’s credits are spent entirely on that output. Nothing here comes from using Firefly.

Sources

Update log

  1. New review. Plan prices and credit allowances read from Adobe's plans page (US prices from a fetch, euro prices and the full FAQ from a Dutch browser session); credit costs per output are our division of the page's 'up to' counts.